A personal online journal of truth.

I received some worrisome news yesterday. My family doctor is referring me on to a cardiologist for an ECHO and consultation. This is because there was some concern regarding my EKG. I’ve worried myself sick since receiving this news but have am now ready to turn it over to God. Why?

Well, first, I sincerely believe and know it can only be left up to God. But second, I have been reading a daily devotional book titled, “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. Today, I opened up the book to November 19th devotion and, lo and behold, what do I read? “LEAVE OUTCOMES UP TO ME.” There’s your sign! Could it be any clearer than that? What a great reminder for all of us. We are not the ones in charge. God is in charge of every little detail of our lives. He already knows the outcome. He already has it planned for me. He knows what is best for me. And I am ever so grateful to have Him in charge of my life. A Heavenly Father who guides me and protects me and leads me is the greatest gift I could have ever received. Of course, this doesn’t mean that I can go out and eat my weight in Big Macs. What is mean is that he will give me the strength and knowledge to overcome and fight my battles. He will show me the way. Whatever comes, be it a heart condition, surgery, or nothing at all, He will equip me with what I need.

I am blessed beyond measure this morning just to be able to rest all of worries upon His name. God, please be with me through this day and every day ahead. I love the Lord! In Jesus name, I pray. Amen.

If you are reading this and do not know the Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, I pray that you will find Him and accept him as your Savior. There is no greater peace. There is no greater blessing.

Comments on: "I’m leaving it up to you, God" (3)

  1. I’m sorry about the news you received and hope it turns out the best for you. Since it appears you addressed this to non-Christians, I would like to respond, because I think your post demonstrates why people don’t regard Christianity as making any sense.

    You wrote,

    We are not the ones in charge. God is in charge of every little detail of our lives. He already knows the outcome. He already has it planned for me.

    If that’s the case, then God created the concern about your EKG. If, forbid, the concern is validated, then it follows God created the heart problem too. Remember what you said: “He already has it planned for me” and “God is in charge of every little detail of our lives.”

    Oftentimes, following this logic, Christians respond that God is “testing” them. Very well. When this happens to a child or even young infant, God is testing them too? Sometimes, people, including children, die. What’s the test there?

    When you start to think about it, the whole thing becomes rather bizarre, and doesn’t comport with the notion that God is all-good and all-powerful.

    Christian: “God loves every one of us and is in charge of every detail of our lives.”

    Skeptic: “Ok, why did God give that infant a terminal illness and not cure it?”

    Christian: …

    Personally, I could not have peace with such a deity for it makes no sense whatsoever.

    • Thank you for your comment. I am no expert on religion and do not claim to be. I simply wrote what I truly believe in my heart. Do you ever feel so strongly in your heart about something that you know is the truth? This is how I feel within my soul. I wish I could defend it in a more “matter of fact” sort of way but I cannot. I only know what is in my heart, no pun intended. I also know that bad things happen to good people. Life is not always fair. In fact, all the sickness, injustices and so on, in this life would be so unfair IF this were the ONLY life we were meant for. But “this life” is merely a flash in time for us. God created us to live eternally with Him. I believe in that. I have faith in that. The “bad things” that happen to us or even to children can seem so unfair. But there are reasons that we cannot understand at the time for these things happening. Perhaps the illness of a small child will eventually be the reason another person comes to God. I don’t know. We don’t know. Only God has the answers. One day I’ll understand. That’s why it’s called, “living by faith”.

      Again, I am not an expert on religion nor am I able to defend my beliefs in a matter of fact way. It is simply what I believe to be the truth within my soul. God bless you and your family. 🙂

      • Do you ever feel so strongly in your heart about something that you know is the truth?

        Not really, no. I don’t rely on subjective feeling to determine what’s true for me. Your words could just as easily have been spoken by a Mormon, Muslim, Hindu, or Pantheist, yet you would agree their beliefs are wrong.

        When they (and you) say they “live by faith,” it says to me, “I live in spite of the evidence that’s around me”. Such a stance opens the door to any belief, no matter how crazy or outlandish. What’s the difference between your faith-based beliefs and those of the Scientologist’s? Are the latter’s just as valid as yours because they too “live by faith”?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

